The winner of the 2014 PPRS poster award is Katie C. Lewis, for her poster “Impact of Object Relations and Impulsivity on Persistent Suicidal Behavior.” She presented at the annual meeting of PPRS. Her co-authors were Kevin B. Meehan, Jane G. Tillman, Nicole M. Cain, and Philip S. Wong. Congratulations, Katie!


PPRS is pleased to announce the program for its 2014 meeting, in concert with the meeting of the American Psychoanalytic Association (see the APsaA website for complete program listing). We look forward to seeing you there.

PPRS Program 2014

Thursday, January 16th

12-1:30pm PPRS Research Forum
PPRS Research Forum: States of Mind Preceding a Near Lethal Suicide Attempt
Jane Tillman, Ph.D., ABPP
Elsa Ronnigstam, Ph.D.

4:30 – 6:30pm Discussion Group
Research in Psychoanalysis: Concepts and Methodology of Single Case Research: The Online Archive
Chair & Discussant: Lewis A. Kirshner, M.D.
Presenters: Mattias Desmet, Ph.D., Reitske Meganck, Ph.D., Jochem Willemsen, Ph.D.

Friday January 17th

11:15am – 4pm Poster Session
Research Relevant to Theory and Practice in Psychoanalysis

12 – 1:30pm Research Symposium
Research Studies in Depression – Three Outcomes – Studies in Psychoanalysis and Long-Term Psychodynamic Psychotherapies with (Severely) Depressed Patients
Chair: Andrew J. Gerber, M.D., Ph.D. (New York, NY)
Presenters: Dorothea Huber, M.D., Ph.D., Gerhard Henrich, M.D., Guenther Klug, M.D., Marianne Leuzinger-Bohleber, Ph.D., Lisa Kallenbach, Steven Roose, M.D.

2:30-4:30pm PPRS Research Forum
Synergy of Mind and Brain in Borderline Personality Disorder: The Neural Dynamics of Trust, Social Exclusion, and Object Relations
Chair & Presenter:  Eric A. Fertuck, Ph.D.
Presenter:  Margaret R. Zellner, Ph.D., L.P.

3:30-5 pm PPRS Research Forum
Toward the PDM2: New Empirical Findings and Directions
Chair: Vittorio Lingiardi, M.D.
Presenters: Robert F. Bornstein, Ph.D., Francesco Gazzillo, Ph.D., Robert M. Gordon, Ph.D., ABPP, Nancy McWilliams, Ph.D., ABPP

Saturday, January 18th

10 am – 12 noon PPRS Research Forum
Mothers (Prenatal) Defense Mechanisms Predict  Attachment Security and Social/Emotional Competence in Two-Year Olds: A Longitudinal Study
Chair & Presenter: John H. Porcerelli, Ph.D., ABPP
Discussant: Steven Huprich, Ph.D.

1 – 3pm PPRS Research Forum
Levels of Differentiation and Relatedness of Self and Object Representations in the Psychodynamic  Treatment of Patients with Personality and Eating  Disorder: State of the Art
Chair:  Patrick Luyten, Ph.D.
Presenters: Benedicte Lowyck, Ph.D., Paul Robinson, M.D., Diana Diamond, Ph.D.
Discussants:  John S. Auerbach, Ph.D., Sidney J. Blatt, Ph.D.

3:30 – 5pm PPRS Research Forum
Advances in the Study of Grandiose and Vulnerable Narcissism
Chair: Steven Huprich, Ph.D.
Presenters:  Michal Weiss, Ketrin Lengu, Sharon Nelson


Researchers from around the world met at the Psychoanalytic Research Training Program.

Click here for more information about the RTP, and to see more photos from the event.


Comments are closed.